top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker


My rating: 3.5/5

Genre: Historical Fantasy

Category: YA

Publisher: Orchard Books

The Witch Hunter is about a young girl called Elizabeth who despite her innocent appearance is actually a skilled witch hunter whose world is thrown into turmoil when she herself is accused of being a witch. Sentenced to burn she is saved by the enemy she was trained to hunt and thrown into a world she was taught to hate.

Surprisingly I enjoyed this books far more than I thought I would. I was nearly put of by numerous negative reviews by people who didn’t like Elizabeth but I thoroughly enjoyed the book and am glad I picked it up (saying it was for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black may of played a large role in convincing me).

Elizabeth really grew throughout the story and I felt she was a very relatable character. For a start she was a little naïve as she just accepted everything she was told and didn’t question it but as the story progressed and she began to form her own opinions and stopped seeing everything as black and white she grew into a much more interesting and likeable heroine. I also really liked the fact she that although she looks innocent she is anything but. Plus she is petite and can kick your ass what’s not to love!

The supporting characters were also great and helped create a humorous tone throughout the book (namely George who is awesome). They were also all very interesting and intriguing in their own right and felt very real and helped to make Elizabeth’s character development feel more natural.

Although I really did enjoy this book it wasn’t without its faults, a few issues were brushed over and weren’t explained very well and I was left a little confused in places especially towards the end. Also the romance although sweet was a little bland.

That being said I really enjoyed this book and am very much looking forward to the sequel.

bottom of page